Organisational Development

National Health Service

The NHS introduced a more efficient structure, enhancing patient care services.


National Health Service


October 11, 2023



The NHS transitioned from 4 PCTs to 8 CCGs, achieving a streamlined structure and improved patient services.


The National Health Service (NHS) is the umbrella term for the £130bn publicly-funded healthcare systems of the United Kingdom (UK). Clinical commissioning groups (CCGs) are NHS organisations set up by the Health and Social Care Act 2012 to organise the delivery of NHS primary care services in England, replacing the role of the Primary Care Trusts (PCT’s).


• Transitioning the ‘SHIP’ cluster responsibilities and resources of 4 PCT’s (1,600 staff) to 8 newly forming CCG’s.

• Define & implement governance and working practices for individual CCG’s.

• Design and agree ‘Make, Share, Buy’ profile across SHIP cluster.

• Ensure CCG’s ‘fit for purpose’ by end of the year.


The team focused on key areas of support with a collaborative approach taken to ensure stakeholders were supported through the change process at all steps;

• Defined and agreed the ‘end to end’ commissioning pathway, identifying key themes and priorities.

• Mapped key stakeholder understanding of revised roles, responsibilities, business systems and processes deployed in the delivery of commissioning.

• Engaged stakeholders in the change process; being focused on optimised patient outcomes.

• Embedded process improvement capability within CCG structure.


A lean organisational structure was established, complemented by a highly trained GP board. Furthermore, a high-performing consortium of three local CCGs was formed, collaboratively sharing governance and support services. Additionally, integrated commissioning solutions were pioneered, seamlessly aligning with acute service provision.

Buy this Template
All Templates
Hire a Webflow Professional to build a website using this template. Learn More